CURLS IN OVERLOAD AT THE NATURAL BLACK HAIR EVENT 2015

Just like last year, I was invited to the Natural Black Hair Event, presenting Luv & Learn Your Beauty in Amsterdam. I enjoyed it a lot the last time I was there, so ofcourse I wanted to be there again! 

The event took place on Friday and Saturday at Pakhuis de Zwijger. I was there on Friday. Over the last few years I noticed that also in Holland people pay more attention to natural hair. Obviously I think that’s a good thing. Not so long ago I posted an article about the beauty of different textures, introducing a few of my friends. So, it’s even more beautiful if more women embrace their natural beauty.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Unfortunately the main act, the one and only Taren Guy, couldn’t be there because of the train problems that day. But nevertheless, they did very well on the presentation! It was very entertaining.

The first guest of the evening was Erica Douglas, also known as Sister Scientist. She uses Sister Scientist as a fun and creative platform for consumers who are looking for a trusted source for scientific/technical information about their beauty and grooming products. She also uses this medium to encourage young ladies to pursue careers in science/engineering by breaking stereotypes to show them that being “a nerd” can be pretty cool. And that’s exactly what she did at the NBH event. Her words where inspiring.

Sister Scientist

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Next up was famous afro-hairstylist Felicia Leatherwood, who told us basically everything we need to know about different textures and how to take care of it properly. She asked five women to come up stage, all with a different texture. Explaining what the texture of hair needed to get healthy (or healthier). She even showed us a live demo of a beautiful hair up-do. Even though it only took her ten minutes, I think I need to practice that hair-do for like, ten times, before it looks that gorgeous. Amazing!

Felicia Leatherwood on stage with five ladies, all having different hair textures.

‘Turn around so we can see!’

Felicia showed us how much you need to get your hair trimmed every once in a while: ‘Not too much, just show her your thumb! If she cuts off more than this, you should RUN.’

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Live demo

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

The beautiful up-do!

After Felicia, another very inspiring and special guest came up stage. I already heard from her before and even saw her dance when I visited the National Ballet here in Holland. I’m talking about ballet dancer Michaela DePrince from Sierra Leone, who’s been adopted and living in the United States since 1999. She is the first black American girl in the Dutch National Ballet. Her story keeps mesmerizing me and it was very touching to see her and hear her speak that day. Such a strong and beautiful soul!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I wasn’t the only one who was touched by Michaela’s story. Sabrina Starke, Dutch singer, dedicated one of the three songs she performed to her. That woman has a voice! So wonderful.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Sabrina Starke while performing.

Just like last year, there also was a live panel, mini market and food hall.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

And you could also win prizes!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

At the event I met a lot of wonderful people. It’s so honoring to hear positive comments on my blog or how I inspire people as a person. I get shy when people tell me that, but I really, really appreciate it. One of the lovely ladies who approached me is Dayna Smith, who also owns a blog called My Curly Way. It was so nice to meet you! Thank you again for the wonderful time and positive energy.

Me and Dayna.

Ofcourse, I couldn’t leave the event without a goodiebag! It was a wonderful evening. And with that said, I want to thank Claudia Creebsburg, Anna A-Reynolds, Nancy Kyeremaa and the rest of the organisation of Natural Black Hair for having me! I hope to see you again next year.

I think I’ll need a day or two to try out all these products.

One thought on “CURLS IN OVERLOAD AT THE NATURAL BLACK HAIR EVENT 2015

Leave a Reply

