#5 CELMATIQUE IN AFRIQUE: FASHION SHOOT

When it comes to fashion, Africa has a lot to offer. But the problem is it takes a lot of time for basically anything to become a success. Curious as I am, I wanted to get a closer look at a brand which is finding its way in the colorful fashion scene of Accra.

Wear what you like
It’s no news that the fashion scene in Africa is more colorful than it is in Europe. The traditional clothing like the kente, dashiki and of course all the Vlisco fabrics, are made in the most beautiful colors and prints. I was talking to Gerrit the other day and he told me he saw a man wearing an amazing printed blouse. “Man, I want one! But I wouldn’t wear it back in Holland though…” You should’ve seen the look on my face: “WHY not?!” For real, why not? This is to all the men (AND women) in Holland or wherever you may be: you should wear what you like, no matter what country you live in or what culture you come from! Make it suit you.

Shooting time
Anyhow, let’s get back to the point. Monaa, Charles’s sister invited me to help out on a fotoshoot a few days ago. It was a shoot for the look book of Charlotte, a fashion brand located in Accra, that features traditional fits and authentic fabric for the modern day woman. And. I. Freakin. Loved. It. Every single piece of that collection was defined and classy at the same time.

Vlisco
Of course the main reason I’m all the way here in Accra is because of Charles. But I also love to get a glimpse of the Ghanaian fashion scene. Well, I most certainly will, because in a few days I’ll be getting a tour in the Vlisco factory! Stay tuned guys!

For now you can check out all the pictures I took during the shoot. Do you like the clothes as much as I do?

I want 'm all

Getting ready

Getting ready

Together with the lovely Quartey sisters

Together with the lovely Quartey sisters

Found this in the office. Look at that green coat!

Found this in the office. Look at that green coat!

with VSCOcam with c1 preset

5 thoughts on “#5 CELMATIQUE IN AFRIQUE: FASHION SHOOT

Leave a Reply

