#12 CELMATIQUE IN AFRIQUE: GHANAIAN FUNERAL

Yesterday was a day filled with mixed emotions. I cried, laughed, wondered but most of all I was impressed by how a funeral can have such positivity.

The perfect fit
Just like I explained in my previous post, my Kaba and Slit is custom made by NK. After a few adjustments it fitted perfectly. Though it was the tightest skirt I’ve ever worn in my life, haha!

Unity
Once I got to the funeral I was astonished by how beautiful everyone was looking: all in custom made, black and white printed attire! Well, that is most definitely something special. All the grandchildren (including me as Charles’s girlfriend) were dressed in the same print. Oh, by the way: black, white and red are the official funeral colors in Ghana.

Celebration
A funeral in Ghana is also a celebration of the life of the dearly departed. And that was exactly how the day ended. We celebrated. Yes, I even danced in that super tight skirt of mine! You can imagine how limited I was in my movements.

Positivity
Even though there were a lot of sad and emotional moments, we also had fun. You see, positivity is everything in life. The one thing you know for certain is that one day this life will come to an end and that there will be a lot of people you leave behind. Family, friends, other people that care about you. I know my funeral will be a party as well. It needs to be cheerful and fun. ‘Cause that is the way I would like to be remembered. Have you ever thought about how you would want people to celebrate your life?

It was a very memorable experience. I’m more than grateful to the Quartey family for having me. I truly felt part of it.

'Can you believe this guy?'

‘Can you believe this guy?’

<3

Sweetheart Rhema

Sweetheart Rhema

I awkwardly stept in the mud ..

I awkwardly stept in the mud ..

But just keep smiling

But just keep smiling

It was going down

It was going down

In action

In action

All the grandchildren together!

Bearded men

Bearded men

This picture will forever make me smile

Aunties and Charles's mother on the right

Beautiful ladies! Two aunties and Charles’s mother on the right

With Charles and his older sister Mona

With Charles and his older sister Mona

Total shot of the beautiful Kaba and Slit. I love it

Total shot of me wearing the beautiful, custom made Kaba and Slit

6 thoughts on “#12 CELMATIQUE IN AFRIQUE: GHANAIAN FUNERAL

  1. Dear Celeste.. Wanna thank you and the great Quartey family to be able to get this inview in such a special important moment of the life…beautiful pictures of the family and moments….
    The way you express this experience is moving us here..and inviting to think about your question…:)…very right! We wish you all a memorable continuation and look forward to your next post. with love.. your loving family in the Netherlands Hug X

Leave a Reply

